e-Books (electronic books online)DVDs and videosHow to write a book reviewSuggested Readings
Magazines vs. Journals: what's the difference?
Online Cultural Videos
Sources of US history primary documentsWhat Are Primary Sources ?
This is the "Guide to
Holocaust Resources" page of the "Holocaust: Days of Remembrance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Holocaust: Days of Remembrance  

Congress established the Days of Remembrance as the nation’s annual commemoration of the Holocaust and created the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum as a permanent living memorial to the victims. In Hebrew, Holocaust Remembrance Day is called Yom Hashoah
Last Updated: May 16, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/Holocaust Print Guide RSS Updates

Guide to
Holocaust Resources
Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected books at the TCC Library

    

Oskar Schindler : the untold account of his life, wartime activities, and the true story behind the list Conscience & courage : rescuers of Jews during the Holocaust The Courage to care : rescuers of Jews during the Holocaust Remembering to forget : Holocaust memory through the camera’s eye
Those who forget the past : the question of anti-Semitism Zionism and anti-semitism in Nazi Germany The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum encyclopedia of camps and ghettos, 1933-1945. Vol. 1, Early camps, youth camps, and concentration camps and subcamps under the SS-Business Administration Main Office (WVHA) A quiet American : the secret war of Varian Fry
We remember with reverence and love : American Jews and the myth of silence after the Holocaust, 1945-1962 Antisemitism, Christian ambivalence, and the Holocaust The hand of compassion : portraits of moral choice during the Holocaust Holocaust denial as an international movement

 

   

 

Recommended Reference Books

Cover Art
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum encyclopedia of camps and ghettos, 1933-1945. Vol. 1, Early camps, youth camps, and concentration camps and subcamps under the SS-Business Administration Main Office (WVHA)
Call Number: REF D 805.A2 U55 2009
This first volume covers three groups of camps: the early camps that the Nazis established in the first year of Hitler's rule, the major SS concentration camps with their constellations of subcamps, and the special camps for Polish and German children and adolescents. Overview essays provide context for each category, while each camp entry provides basic information about the site's purpose; the prisoners, guards, working and living conditions; and key events in the camp's history. Material from personal testimonies helps convey the character of the site, while source citations provide a path to additional information.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Holocaust literature
Call Number: REF PN 56.H55 E53 2002
The editors provide an engrossing look at 128 authors of Holocaust literature and their works--poems and plays to diaries and memoirs. The authors have intimate knowledge of the Nazi Holocaust: some of them perished in the camps, some survived, some lost family members. Vignettes of the authors and their work reveal the profound effect the Holocaust had on their lives and literary work. The alphabetical entries combine biographical information (especially as it pertains to their experience of the Holocaust) and in-depth analysis of their literary works. Entries list a selection of works by the author, sometimes citing further biographical readings about the author. Two bibliographies add additional weight: "Bibliography of Critical Studies of Holocaust Literature" cites supplementary sources, and "Bibliography of Primary Holocaust Literature" provides a primer of sources for novices and scholars. An excellent source for those interested in literature about the Holocaust; essential for academic libraries.

Cover Art
The Holocaust encyclopedia
Call Number: REF D 804.25 .H66 2001
In 2001, any single-volume encyclopedia attempting coverage of the Holocaust must come up short, but when the editor is Walter Laqueur and its more than 100 contributors include Raul Hilberg, Israel Gutman, Richard Breitman, Saul Friedlander, Christopher Browning, and James Young, one must take notice. ... this solid addition to Holocaust studies reflects much of the research carried out since the collapse of the Soviet bloc. Even if it falls short of being comprehensive, it should be an essential acquisition for any academic library.

Catalog results for Jewish Holocaust, 1939-1945

 

Search the Catalog

TCC Library Catalog

Limit to: Print Books E-books Audio/Visual
 

TCC not have what you're looking for?

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

UF Center for Jewish Studies

  • The Price Library of Judaica at the University of Florida
    with over 85,000 volumes and growing, is the most comprehensive Judaica library in the Southeastern United States. The Library has significant holdings in social, political, and community history, Hebrew and Yiddish linguistics, Palestinography and modern Israel, Zionism, Hebrew Scriptures, Judaism and rabbinics, reference tools and serials. Books may be borrowed from the Price Library through the interlibrary loan system in public and academic libraries, and the Internet.
 

Requesting books from other libraries

Books not available from the TCC library may still be requested.  You have two options.

1.       Edit your LINCCWeb search so that you are searching in All Colleges (not just TCC).  If the book appears, click on one of the colleges and then the Request link.  Change the school in the request box to TCC and enter your borrower ID (bottom number on your student ID card) and PIN (last 4 digits of your SS#).  We will give you a call when your requested book arrives.

2.       If the book does not appear in LINCCWeb at any college, fill out the TCC Library Interlibrary Loan Form and we will locate the item at another institution. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip