John G. Riley Historic House Museum
Use of Materials
This is the "TCC Riley Archive" page of the "TCC Riley Archive" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TCC Riley Archive  

A collection of papers, manuscripts and books on general African-American history from Civil War to Civil Rights eras (1860-1960), with specific focus on Leon and Gadsden Counties in North Florida.
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/RileyArchive Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Riley Archive Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Archive Hours

ENJOY THE SUMMER! 

Primary and Secondary Resources for your research!

Monday - Thursday: 9:30 am to 3:00 pm (see Reference Desk)

Closed Friday to Sunday

College holidays are observed

The Archive is open to the public for research but an appointment is recommended. 

Contact the ARCHIVE at 850-201- 6540 or call the Library Reference Department at 850-201-8383.

 

 

Purpose

The TCC Riley Archive's mission is connect untold stories of Black Floridians' linkage to the legacy of the African Diaspora. Visitors have access to documents, photographs, oral histories, books, periodicals, and other primary sources that will enhance the educational experience. 

 

Interactive TCC Campus Map

Use this map to see the location of the library.

 

John G. Riley 1857-1954

     

                                                   

     

    Who was John Riley?

    John Riley was a strict educator, principal, real estate owner and businessman in Tallahassee, Florida.  He was born in 1857, when slavery was a way of life and educational pursuits for Blacks were illegal. With the help of his Aunt Henrietta, Riley defied the law of the land and learned to read and write.

    From such a meager beginning, he began his teaching career in 1877, in Wakulla County.  In 1881, he was a teacher at Lincoln Academy, one of three freedmen schools built during Reconstruction in Florida. He also distinguished himself as a leader in business as a land owner in downtown Tallahassee and was Grand High Priest of the Royal Arch Masons of Florida.

     

    Riley House Museum- Short Film

    John G. Riley House

    (850) 681-7881
    419 East Jefferson Street
    Tallahassee, Florida 32309

     

    Background

    Tallahassee Community College (TCC)  partnered with the John G. Riley House Museum to provide a collection of primary and secondary sources extremely useful for faculty and students interested in local African American history.  The Archive is located in the TCC Library in Room 202. 

     Thumbnail

    Students use the materials for research assignments

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip