Books and Electronic BooksDVDs and Streaming VideosHow to write a book review
Online Video Resources
Need Science Help?Need Writing Help?Need Computer Help?
This is the "TCC Library Databases/Articles" page of the "BSC 1005 Introduction to Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BSC 1005 Introduction to Biological Sciences  

This course is designed to give a basic understanding of biological concepts.
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/bsc1005 Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Library Databases/Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Introduction of Biological Sciences guide

This course is intended for non-science majors and it surveys various topics in plant life, animal life, cell biology, anatomy, physiology, reproduction, development, genetics, ecology, evolution and taxonomy. Human life is emphasized.

COURSE TEXTBOOKS:

Cover Art
Campbell Essential Biology with Physiology 4th edt - Eric J. Simon; Jane B. Reece; Jean L. Dickey
ISBN: 0321772601
Campbell Essential Biology with Physiology with MasteringBiology®, Fourth Edition, makes biology irresistibly interesting for non-majors biology students. This best-selling text, known for its scientific accuracy and currency, makes biology relevant and approachable with increased use of analogies, real world examples, more conversational language, and intriguing questions. Over 100 new MasteringBiology activities engage students outside of the classroom. - from publisher

Science Related Library Databases

  • Science in Context
    Topic overviews, biographies, journal articles, images and videos, experiments.
  • General Science Full Text
    Magazines, journals and The New York Times Science Section. 1995+
  • Academic Search Complete
    Scholarly and popular sources covering business, social sciences, humanities, general science and education.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • Science (AAAS.org)
    Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.
  • GREENR (Gale)
    Shapes a multi-faceted understanding of sustainability and supports research around social, environmental, and economic perspectives, enabling critical thinking around the evolving issues affecting sustainability and the hard science behind the solutions.

    ***Need help navigating the homepage? View the Tutorial. Need help searching? View the Tutorial.***
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center
    Search by Diseases & Conditions, Drugs & Herbs, and more.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Full-text and images from nursing, allied health and medical journals, as well as core reference books.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • MEDLINE
    MEDLINE with Full Text. National Library of Medicine's database for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system. Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage back to 1965; and abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • CINAHL Plus Full Text
    Articles from more than 560 journals and indexing for 1,835 titles: nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health, alternative/complementary medicine, & 17 allied health disciplines.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial.***
  • Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source
    Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. Abstracting and indexing for more than 700 titles, with over 580 titles in full-text.
  • More databases
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Accessing eResources

To view database articles, you may be prompted to login. If you see a pop-up box asking for Username and Password, enter the information you use to login to Blackboard

.

If you see the LINCC Web screen (below) asking for a Borrower ID and PIN, use the login information provided on your TCC ID Card.


Once you receive your TCC ID Card you may access the TCC library’s electronic resources, or databases, via the TCC Library website or directly from LINCCWeb.

If prompted to log in with a 'Borrower ID' enter the bottom number on your ID card (it should begin with 25801…).  The PIN is the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.

You may change your PIN at any time via the Library’s My Account feature.

 

Library Hours



Monday - Thursday
7:30am - 9:00pm
 Friday
7:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday
10:00am - 2:00pm


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip