Electronic Books
Evaluating Web Resources
Need Writing Help?Need Computer Help?Magazines vs. Journals: what's the difference?
This is the "TCC Library Databases/Articles" page of the "CHD 2220 Child Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHD 2220 Child Development  

Library and Electronic Resources supplementing CHD 2220 Child Development
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/chd2220 Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Library Databases/Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Child Development Research Guide

Cover Art
Infants and Children : Prenatal Through Middle Childhood
This textbook begins with a discussion of the theory and history of child development research, followed by coverage of the foundations of development, and stage-by-stage examinations of physical, cognitive, and emotional and social development. The major theories and research strategies are detailed and the interrelations between the types of development and the contributions of both biological and environmental factors are emphasized. Berk teaches psychology at Illinois State University.

Child Development Databases

  • PsycArticles
    Contains peer reviewed journal articles covering general psychology, including child development. After entering search terms, scroll down and select the AGE GROUP of interest.
  • Education Research Complete
    This massive database offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Peer-reviewed journal articles covering anthropology, criminology, economics, geography, international relations, political science, psychology, public administration, sociology, and related fields. 1983+
  • MEDLINE
    This massive healthcare related database is one of the most comprehensives sources of journal articles related to health and medicine.

General Library Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    Scholarly and popular sources covering business, social sciences, humanities, general science and education.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • OmniFile Full Text
    Meta-database providing journal articles from 3,100 publications, many peer-reviewed. Includes education and the social sciences - such as the journal of Child Psychiatry & Human Development.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • JSTOR
    Back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This is not a current issues database and does not have the most currently released journal issues. (Gap of 1-5 years ).

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, magazine and newspaper articles. Topics include: adoption, autism, behavioral disorders, birth control, body image, designer babies, eating disorders, gay parents, homeschooling, homosexuality, obesity, peer pressure, school violence, teenage pregnancy, work and family, and many more.
  • More databases
 

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Reference Librarian

 

Library Hours

Fall and Spring Semester:

Mon.-Thurs.: 7:30am-9:00pm
Fri.: 7:30am-5:00pm
Sat.: 10:00am-2:00pm

Summer Semester:

Mon.-Thurs.: 7:30am-8:00pm
Fri.: 7:30am-5:00pm
Sat.: closed
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip