How to write a book reviewDruash 1984 Assignment
Evaluating WebsitesLeft Wing & Right Wing News Sources
Need Writing Help?Need Computer Help?
This is the "TCC Library Articles/Databases" page of the "POS 2001 Introduction to Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POS 2001 Introduction to Political Science  

Library and electronic resources supplementing Introduction to Political Science
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/pos2001 Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Library Articles/Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Introduction to Political Science guide

Cover Art
Politics in a Changing World - Marcus E. Ethridge; Howard Handelman
Call Number: Reserve
"POLITICS IN A CHANGING WORLD is written at an appropriate level for introductory level college courses. Concepts are well-explained. Boxes and charts are useful. The data presented supports the issues discussed. The concepts, discussion questions, and Internet sites provided at the end of each chapter are a real plus." "This is a very useful and informative text. It covers key areas of political science such as political economy, culture and the role of ideologies. The 'Where on the Web?' boxes, discussion questions, etc. are very helpful and insightful."

Academic Databases

  • JSTOR
    Back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This is not a current issues database and does not have the most currently released journal issues. (Gap of 1-5 years ).

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • Academic Search Complete
    Scholarly and popular sources covering business, social sciences, humanities, general science and education.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • OmniFile Full Text
    Multi-disciplinary meta-database providing text
    & abstracts from seven Wilson databases. 1800+ titles. Full-text 1995+

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • Biography in Context
    Biographical articles on people ranging from antiquity to the present.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • CQ Weekly
    Covers acts of Congress that shapes legislation. Includes cover stories, reports, trends, forecasts, commerce, politics, and information on bills, amendments and votes.
  • More databases
 

Newspapers

Local, regional, and national news sources.
Current - 1985 +

           
1851 to 2006 - Images from every page, every issue.
2002 to present

Statistics on Countries of the World

  • CIA World Fact Book
    - Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and interational issues for 266 countries of the World. It includes summary statistics on a wide variety of topics. Most recent print edition is available in the Library reference collection
  • UN Data Explorer
    - The United Nations collects data on a wide variety of topics, including population, educaiton, health, gender, crime, telecommunications and tourism.
  • World Bank Data
    - The World Bank provides data on over 1200 topics including Agriculture, Development, Infrastructure, Aid, Labor, Social Issues, Economic policy, poverty, education, environment, science, technology and finances.
  • Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics
    - economic, environmental and social statistics for World Countries from the OECD. Includes agriculture, demographics, environment, health, labor, energy, economics, and other topics.
  • Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistics (FAOSTAT)
    - a collection of historical and current data relating to food and agriculture for World countries. Includes information on production, trade, consumption, use, food security, pirces, resources, forestry and fisheries.
  • World Development Indicators
    - a statistical report from the World Bank that provides data on the progress of development for World countries and regions. It includes economic, environmental, social and trade data from 1960 to the present.
  • Africa Development Indicators
    - data on development in Africa from the World Bank. Data is available for 53 countries as well as various regions within Africa.
  • Global Development Finance
    - a database from the World Bank with data on external debt for developing countries.
  • Background Notes
    Background Notes - which are prepared by the U.S. State Department, contain facts and summary statistics about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of countries, some dependencies, and special sovereignty areas.
  • Country Studies
    Country studies, which are prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, present descriptions and analyses of the history, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
 

Druash 1984 Assignment

Click HERE for the Druash 1984 Assignment Resources!

 

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Credo Reference - Dictionaries, Bi-Lingual Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Biographies, Quotations
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Encyclopedias and more, with authoritative essays on varied topics
Oxford English Dictionary
  Oxford Reference Online Premium - Quotations, timelines, bi-lingual dictionaries.
 

Accessing eResources

To view database articles, you may be prompted to login. If you see a pop-up box asking for Username and Password, enter the information you use to login to Blackboard

.

If you see the LINCC Web screen (below) asking for a Borrower ID and PIN, use the login information provided on your TCC ID Card.


Once you receive your TCC ID Card you may access the TCC library’s electronic resources, or databases, via the TCC Library website or directly from LINCCWeb.

If prompted to log in with a 'Borrower ID' enter the bottom number on your ID card (it should begin with 25801…).  The PIN is the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.

You may change your PIN at any time via the Library’s My Account feature.

 

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip