Books for ReviewHow to write a book review
APA Tutorial
Need Writing Help?Need Computer Help?Magazines vs. Journals: what's the difference?
This is the "TCC Library Articles/Databases" page of the "SYG 2010 Contemporary Social Problems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SYG 2010 Contemporary Social Problems  

Library and electronic resources supplementing SYG 2010, Contemporary Social Problems
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/syg2010 Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Library Articles/Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Contemporary Social Problems guide

Cover Art
Social Problems - John J. Macionis
ISBN: 9780205881390
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Macionis's Social Problems is the only social problems text that explains how society frames social problems and solutions through politics. The text analyzes social issues and policies, using the concepts of sociological theory and the everyday language of politics.

This text helps students understand the attitudes and values that define the political spectrum in the United States. Once students know how social problems are defined by our society through politics, and how the policies to solve these problems are developed, students are able to become involved in solving social problems through activism and political involvement. - From publisher website

 

Popular Databases

Academic Search CompleteScholarly and popular sources on business, social sciences, humanities, science and education.
Gale PowerSearch - Multi-disciplinary with articles from magazines, journals, and books as well as video and podcast content.
OmniFile - Multi-disciplinary, meta-database.
America's NewsLocal, regional, and national news sources.

More databases

 

 

"Hot Topic" Databases


   
SIRS Issues Researcher - Pro/con, research on leading issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Opinions, magazine, and newspaper articles on social issues.
Issues and Controversies - Pro/con discussions, research, editorials on key topics.
CQ Researcher - Reports, graphs, articles on current topics.
 

TCC ID Card Borrower ID & PIN

Once you receive your TCC ID Card you may access the TCC library’s electronic resources, or databases, via the TCC Library website or directly from LINCCWeb.

When prompted to log in, enter the bottom number on your ID card (it should begin with 25801…).  The PIN is the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.

You may change your PIN at any time via the Library’s My Account feature.

Reference Librarian

 

Library Hours

Fall and Spring Semester:

Mon.-Thurs.: 7:30am-9:00pm
Fri.: 7:30am-5:00pm
Sat.: 10:00am-2:00pm
 

Summer Semester:

Mon.-Thurs.: 7:30am-8:00pm
Fri.: 7:30am-5:00pm
Sat.: closed

Reference Desk:  850.201.8383

Circulation Desk:  850.201.8376

 

Ask a Librarian

General Library Databases

The Library's online databases contain millions of published articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals and news sources. Some also include images, podcasts or videoclips. In the online databases, you can search for your topic in thousands of sources at the same time.

  • JSTOR
    Back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This is not a current issues database and does not have the most currently released journal issues. (Gap of 1-5 years ).

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • PsycArticles
    Journals published by the APA and other allied organizations. Covers general psychology and clinical & theoretical research. 1985+
  • OmniFile Full Text
    Multi-disciplinary meta-database.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Topics include anthropology, criminology, economics, geography, international relations, political science, psychology, public administration, sociology, and related fields. 1983+
  • MEDLINE
    MEDLINE with Full Text. National Library of Medicine's database for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system. Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage back to 1965; and abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • More databases
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip