Need Writing Help?Need Computer Help?Magazines vs. Journals: what's the difference?
This is the "TCC Library Databases/Articles" page of the "SYG 2430 Marriage & the Family" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SYG 2430 Marriage & the Family  

Library and electronic resources supplementing SYG 2430, Marriage and the Family
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://tcc.fl.libguides.com/syg2430 Print Guide RSS Updates

TCC Library Databases/Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Marriage & the Family guide

Cover Art
Marriages and Families - Nijole V. Benokraitis
Call Number: Reserves
Examines how recent profound structural and attitudinal changes affect family forms, interpersonal relationships, and raising children. It reaches beyond the traditional discussions to explore racial-ethnic families, single-parent families and gay families as well as the recent scholarship by and about men, fathers, and grandfathers. Contemporary American marriages and families vary greatly in structure, dynamics, and cultural heritage. Thus, discussions of gender roles, social class, race, ethnicity, age, and sexual orientation are integrated throughout this book. To further strengthen students understanding of the growing diversity among today's families, the author included a series of boxes that focus on families from many cultures.

General Library Databases

Below is a list of databases containing peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as many other fomats, such as popular newspapers and magazines.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Scholarly and popular sources covering business, social sciences, humanities, general science and education.

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial!***
  • Gale PowerSearch
    instantly access periodical and reference content in multiple Gale databases from a single starting point while also cross-searching eBooks in the Gale Virtual Library.

    Need help searching? Tutorial. Interpreting results? Tutorial
  • OmniFile Full Text
    Multi-disciplinary meta-database.
  • JSTOR
    Back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This is not a current issues database and does not have the most currently released journal issues. (Gap of 1-5 years ).

    ***Need help? View the Tutorial***
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Topics include anthropology, criminology, economics, geography, international relations, political science, psychology, public administration, sociology, and related fields. 1983+
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    This is a "topic database," great for finding articles from magazines and newspapers, as well as opinion articles from professional organizations, taking both sides of an issue. Select "Browse Issues" and change the category to "Family Issues" to see a list of appropriate topics covered in the database, such as: Adoption, Divorce, Gay Parents, Interracial Racial Marriage, Women's Rights, Work and Family.
  • More databases
 

TCC ID Card Borrower ID & PIN

Once you receive your TCC ID Card you may access the TCC library’s electronic resources, or databases, via the TCC Library website or directly from LINCCWeb.

When prompted to log in, enter the bottom number on your ID card (it should begin with 25801…).  The PIN is the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.

You may change your PIN at any time via the Library’s My Account feature.

 

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Reference Librarian

 

Library Hours



Monday - Thursday
7:30am - 9:00pm
 Friday
7:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday
10:00am - 2:00pm


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip